• #163, Kirulapone Avenue, Colombo 05, Sri Lanka
  • +94 112 51 5759


Schools in flood-affected districts closed until Friday

hon.akila wiraj kariyawasamEducation Minister Akila Wiraj Kariyawasam said that it has been decided to close all the schools in the flood-affected districts from tomorrow (30th May) to Friday (2nd June).





Colombo, Kalutara, Gampaha, Matara, Galle, Hambantota, Kegalle, and Ratnapura Districts have been affected by the prevailing disaster situation.



Meanwhile, the Minister has also instructed to provide three sets of uniforms to the school children in flood-affected areas free of charge.




In addition to that, steps will be taken to provide exercise books and school shoes too.

The department assists media in a macro level in welfare, training, policy planning and accreditation, and providing easy access to Government news and information.