• #163, Kirulapone Avenue, Colombo 05, Sri Lanka
  • +94 112 51 5759


Matara District Coordinating Committee on 17th October

meetingMatara District Coordinating committee will be held on 17th October at 9.30 am at the Gamini Jayasekara Auditorium in Matara District Secretariat.

The meeting will be presided by Co-chairpersons of the Committee State Minister of Finance Lakshman Yapa Abeywardana, Matara District Parliamentarian Buddhika Pathirana and Chief Minister of Southern Province Shan Wijayalal de Silva.

The Committee will discuss matters related to proposals presented for its approval, progress of public institutions in the district, development plan 2016, Decentralization Programme 2016, Divineguma National Programme, Matara- Kataragama railway line development, bridges project, city development, coastal parks development, defence situation of the district, agricultural/land/irrigation/animal husbandry, road developments, health services, educational developments, Pura Neguma Project, development activities by the Central Environmental Authority, housing projects by the Housing Development Authority, disaster management activities in the district, local government, transportation, fisheries development, water supply, electricity development, industrial development, postal/telecommunication, and activities of the National Youth Service Council and Vocational Training Authority.

Political leaders including parliamentarians of the district, members of the Southern Provincial Council, members of Pradeshiya Sabha, and public officers including Matara District Secretary Pradeep Ratnayake will participate in the event.

The meeting is organized by the Planning Section of the Matara District Secretariat.

The department assists media in a macro level in welfare, training, policy planning and accreditation, and providing easy access to Government news and information.